Are sprinkles vegan? The short answer is they are sometimes vegan, sometimes not. So you need to read the products' ingredient list and labels beforehand! To make things easier read this guide on vegan sprinkles.
This article contains Amazon affiliate links.
What makes them not vegan?
Some common non-vegan ingredients in store-bought sprinkles may be eggs, dairy, gelatin, beeswax. Those are very obvious, but lookout for hidden animal products in sprinkles, such as certain food colorings, carmine or confectioners glaze (also known as shellac). Carmine and confectioners glaze are both based on byproducts of bugs, and may even contain insects.
Vegan Friendly Brands
These brands are vegan-friendly and sell both vegan and non-vegan kinds. Read the ingredients list before purchasing.
- Sweets & Treats
- Fancy Sprinkles
- Let Them Eat Cakes
- CK Products
- Lieber’s Rainbow Sprinkles
- A Great Surprise
- Sundae Fundae
If you look around on Etsy you will find lots of small sprinkle businesses that are either entirely vegan, or vegan-friendly. Some of these brands include ShopSweetsandTreats, MoDoughNoProblems, Efias or YolisYummiesSupplies, KarmaBaker.
Vegan Only Brands
These brands are completely vegan, their whole variety is always vegan.
What about the sugar
If you are located in the United States and concerned about the sugar being processed through bone char, I recommend choosing an organic, all-vegan, and/or certified cruelty-free brand. Read more about what makes sugar non-vegan.
Substitution and alternatives
Some alternatives to sprinkles could be cacao nibs, organic coarse sugar, mini chocolate chips, crushed graham crackers, dried fruit, mini marshmallows, coconut flakes or shreds, or seeds (such as chia, flax, or hemp). Another option is to make your own sprinkles at home!