Are Marshmallows vegan? No, marshmallows are typically made with gelatin (an animal-derived protein). However, there are lots of vegan brands available in grocery stores and online. To help you find the right product, we have a brand list for you in this article. Alternatively, make vegan marshmallows at home from scratch.
💭 Why are marshmallows not vegan?
Marshmallows typically contain gelatin, an animal protein derived from the ligaments, tendons, and skin of animals, such as cows and pigs.
In addition to gelatin look out for albumen (egg whites). While it’s usually not in regular marshmallows, it is a common additive in marshmallow creme or fluff (the stuff that comes in jars).
📋 Vegan marshmallow brands list
There are plenty of vegan marshmallow brands out there nowadays! Here are our absolute favorites:
More vegan marshmallow brands:
- Funky Mello
- Goodland Farms
- Mallow Puffs
- Ananda Foods
- Suzanne's Specialties (Marshmallow Cream)
- Smucker's (Marshmallow Topping)
- The Naked Marshmallow Company
- Know Brainer's Sugar-Free Marshmallows
👩🏽🍳 How to make vegan marshmallows?
There is a variety of different vegan recipes out there helping you with making them from scratch at home. Many use a mix of agar, aquafaba, and starch instead of gelatin. Try my friend Michelle's marshmallow recipe! It is so good!
🤔 What to make with marshmallows?
Despite snacking on delicious squishy marshmallows, the first thing that comes to mind during summer is of course: S'mores! (If you want to make vegan s'mores check out our graham cracker guide.) You can get super creative with the s'mores flavors! We have a vegan s'mores pie recipe, and a s'mores cookie recipe that you just have to try - because YUM! Other ideas could be s'mores brownies, bars, or banana boats.
During winter you can add marshmallows to your hot chocolate or make cute marshmallow snow people!
Marshmallows are a great cake decoration. Decorate your baked goods on their own, or cover marshmallows in chocolate, icing, and/or sprinkles.